Poppy The Nightmare

Look at that face.

Meet Poppy, she is an absolute nightmare. She is incredibly headstrong, very sassy, and when I lived at home, would not pay me an ounce of attention as long as my Mum was in the house. She is a nightmare in the loosest sense of the word. She is extremely inoffensive, likes being very close to people, wouldn’t harm a fly (to the extent that I am convinced she would be happy to see a burglar, if they came through the door), she loves laying on anything comfy, loves carrots, and would come running from any part of the house if she heard the cheese lid go in the fridge door. The girl loves cheese, mate. Poppy will walk around puddles to avoid her feet getting wet, hates loud noises or too many people in the house, she can open any door that is not closed and will not lay on her back. She does this stupid dance whenever she wants something, and whilst incredibly annoying, is a bit cute. Poppy has major attachment anxiety when my Mum leaves the house, but will quickly retreat to anyone who will offer her a bit of attention before falling asleep as close to anyone as she can get. (Remind you of anyone, Ellen?!)

Poppy came to us around 7 years ago, her owner (my Mum’s aunt) sadly passed away and Poppy had been treated as a Princess with her since she was born. She was initially very overwhelmed coming into the Thomas Family, but I now can’t imagine our family without her and I know she absolutely loves us. My Dad will offer up any chance to moan about her, but he is quick to offer her some attention when she gives him the eyes.

I never knew the impact a dog could have until we got Poppy. Whilst she doesn’t pay me much attention, when I have been at my lowest, she hasn’t left my side. Dogs appear to have this weird sense when something is wrong, and in the purest way, want to help. Ultimately, dogs love us unconditionally, right?! They’re the ultimate in equal opportunities – entirely indifferent to race, gender, star sign, CV, clothes size or ability to throw cool moves on the dance floor. The simplicity and depth of this love is a continuous joy.

The reason pets have been such a huge success with mental health recovery is because they have a calming presence. When you’re suffering from depression you often feel lonely and it’s easy to isolate yourself, having an animal changes that. You can’t be alone and there’s a lot of comfort in that. Poppy has honestly really comforted me in my lowest of lows. Billy, for one, is a big fan of hers.

I don’t live at home anymore, and miss her greatly, she was a reason to smile, always. And when she is gone (can’t even comprehend it), it will be the biggest loss to our little family.

Whilst there was no real reason for this post, other than the fact I miss my dog, I need you all (if you have a dog), to cuddle them a little closer today, they will appreciate it, and I know at times, will have saved you even more than you know.

If it’s not dogs, believe me when I say, you will find something that makes your heart happy, all of the time. It will never disappoint you, I know it doesn’t seem possible at times, but it won’t go anywhere, and if you push through it all, neither will you.

Hang in there.

Ellen on the Edge xx

Leave a comment