World Bipolar Day

It’s World Bipolar Day today. The official day of Sunshine and Showers. I’ve written a little bit about what it is, and how it may affect someone you know. I’ve done way to much research into Bipolar over the past year, it really helps me in understanding (or trying to understand) what is going on in my head. You see, bipolar disorder is a confusing condition, especially for someone viewing it from the outside. If you have a friend or relative living with bipolar disorder, this person needs you to understand, do a bit of research. If you don’t know what to do, or are struggling to understand, it will be appreciated so much.

In short, Bipolar disorder is a mental health condition that affects your moods, which can swing from 1 extreme to another. Throwing you from Mania to Depression basically. It used to be known as manic depression.

So let’s start with the “good one”… To outsiders looking in, bipolar mania comes in many forms. During these emotional highs, your friend or relative may become full of energy and overly excited about life. Mania can be mild, moderate, or severe, so you may not always link their happiness and elation with a mood disorder. Sometimes, all you see is a fun, optimistic, and upbeat person — the life of the party. But other times, you may notice erratic behaviors with their joyful mood.

This person may become more talkative, to the point where others can’t get a word in. They may also speak fast, or come off as impulsive and easily distracted. While this may be confusing for you, this can be a great time for people living with bipolar disorder.

Mania isn’t the only symptom of bipolar disorder. Which brings me to the “bad one”. Depression. Someone with Bipolar could be laughing and having a great time one day. And then the next day, they disconnect from the family and isolate themselves for no apparent reason. They may have little to say, become easily irritated, or lose motivation, which can be a difficult time for everyone. The depression episodes are ALL consuming, giving no leeway for any other emotion other than complete emptiness, hopelessness and pure agony. It’s truly terrifying, but does always, have an end.

Despite all the science and formalities behind Bipolar here – there is also “the middle”: The middle is what I imagine it’s like for everyone else — you know, normal people. I wake up in the morning and I feel fine. I don’t dread going about my day. I go to work, get things done, and have plenty of energy throughout the day.

I can roll with the punches the average day gives me. I’m not freaking out over small problems, I enjoy the little things, and I’m not loathing the future.

I feel normal and it’s how I see myself. I’m not some lunatic running around or some mopey, lazy slug.

I honestly wish I could stay in this mindset all the time, and more often than not, I am truly in “the middle” but I’ve sort of accepted that my moods will change on their own, so I enjoy the calm more when it’s there.

It’s really bloody difficult sometimes – I have always personified my Bipolar diagnoses as “Billy” – this means I have a separation. After all, I have taken a long time in trying to not identify myself as Bipolar. I’m Ellen, I just have an illness called Bipolar Disorder. (NOTE TO SELF- Remember that).

Basically, cheers Billy. Despite bringing me so close to the edge I’ve been scared I definitely will fall, I’m sort of glad you have your own celebration. You’re helping me learn a lot more about the world, you’ve given me motivation to get my head out of my arse and learn about things, to learn about all of the things. In truth, you’ve ignited a passion in me for Mental Health. For everyone’s Mental Health. Everyone has one, we just need to make sure we are taking care of it. After all, we really are all in this together.

So, Happy Day of Sunshine and Showers everyone, Happy World Bipolar Day. Give Billy, and everyone you know accommodating Billy, a round of applause, he ain’t all bad.

Hang in there. X

Leave a comment